Stephanie Braun Galleani participates in 2nd International Summer School on Synthetic and Systems Biology thanks to Biochemical Society travel grant

shutterstock_309202415

‘My name is Stephanie Braun Galleani, Biochemical Engineer originally from Chile. I did my PhD in Biochemical Engineering at University College London, and I’m currently on the first year of my post-doc in the same department. I work on the development and implementation of synthetic gene networks in the yeast strain Pichia pastoris with the aim of producing industrially attractive mutants.

I was luckily selected to participate in the second version of the International Synthetic and Systems Biology Summer School – SSBSS – that took place in the beautiful city of Taormina, in Sicily. This event gathered 150 delegates at different stages of their career, from undergraduate students to senior researchers, group leaders and industrial representatives. The course was run over 5 days from the 5th to the 9th of July, covering a varied range of topics in genetic engineering, synthetic and systems biology, and bioinformatics. The lectures were offered in different modalities, some of them presenting concepts and theory that might have not been familiar to the whole audience and some others in the more common style of a conference, showcasing research projects and current work.

I was invited to present a talk about the work I’ve been developing this past year, focused on the generation of mutant strains of the yeast Pichia pastoris overproducing specific enzymes, with the ultimate goal of generating a de novo pathway for the production of amino chiral alcohols. I had the opportunity to discuss some of my work with the audience afterwards, which was really valuable, especially because this was the first time I was presenting this research in a scientific event.

 

stephanie

There were many interesting talks and sessions, and just to mention a few that I thoroughly enjoyed I would like to highlight the work of Dr. Jef Boeke on DNA assembly and the development of artificial yeast chromosomes, and Zach Serber, from the company Zymergen, who gave a very nice talk on how industry is taking on board the importance and potential of synthetic biology to generate improved cell hosts.

I’d like to express my gratitude to The Biochemical Society for supporting my attendance to such an important and relevant conference and in general to support young researcher in participating of these events.’

Stephanie Braun Galleani

Leave a Reply

