Maitreyi Shivkumar attends 34th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Virology thanks to travel grant from Biochemical Society

shutterstock_237758758

‘I am a final-year PhD student at the Department of Pathology in the University of Cambridge. I was grateful to receive the Biochemical Society travel grant that allowed me to attend the 34th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Virology (ASV), held at Western University in London, Ontario, Canada. The ASV Meeting is a leading conference which brings together scientists researching all aspects of virology.


With symposiums and concurrent sessions organized over nearly five days, the conference covered a wide range of topics from viral gene expression and pathogenesis, to the latest developments in the emerging Ebola and MERS viruses. I particularly enjoyed the keynote talk by Joan Stietz on viral non-coding RNAs. It was also interesting and encouraging to learn of her determination to pursue science in a live recording of the podcast TWiV (This Week in Virology).
I presented some of the work I have completed during my PhD in one of the workshop sessions. The subsequent questions and discussions gave me valuable feedback, especially in planning publications as well as further experiments.
The lunchtime discussion tables and poster sessions were especially useful for me to meet and network with various researchers. As I am approaching the end of my PhD, and am intending to pursue a career in academic research, this gave me the opportunity to discuss potential post-doctoral positions with group leaders.’

Maitreyi Shivkumar

Leave a Reply

