Cara Croft Disseminates a novel in vitro model of Alzheimer’s disease in the US capital, thanks to support from the Biochemical Society

1713546

‘I am now in the final months of my 3 year NC3Rs-funded PhD project at King’s College London working in the laboratories of Dr. Wendy Noble and Dr. Diane Hanger where I have developed a novel in vitro model of Alzheimer’s disease. Using this in vitro model I have elucidated novel mechanisms implicated in the molecular development of Alzheimer’s disease, as well as identified potential ways in which we can interfere with the course of the disease.

Thanks in part to a travel grant from the Biochemical Society I was able to attend the 2015 Alzheimer’s Association International Conference, with over 4000 other scientists and clinicians from over 65 countries in Washington D.C., USA, to disseminate the results from my PhD project. Many interesting findings in the Alzheimer’s disease field were presented at this meeting, both of interest to the clinic and of interest for basic and molecular scientists.

I was given the opportunity to give a poster presentation of my data at the conference. I presented my organotypic brain slice culture model produced from a transgenic AD mouse model, which develops hallmark pathologies similar to human Alzheimer’s disease and also recapitulates in vivo findings from this transgenic line. I also presented novel data on molecular mechanisms which underlie Alzheimer’s disease, and the utility of my in vitro model in drug discovery and drug screening. Giving a poster presentation enabled me to receive feedback and constructive comments from a range of esteemed dementia researchers in academia and industry.

Attendance at the meeting also provided excellent networking opportunities. A particular highlight was attending the George and Trish Vradenburg and Alzheimer’s Reseach UK dinner held at the beautiful Phillips Collection – one of the first museums of modern and contemporary art. At this dinner, around 50 Alzheimer’s disease leaders and experts from around the world came together to discuss the critical role women must play in ending Alzheimer’s disease. Other receptions at the Marriott Marquis and the Newseum provided further outstanding opportunities to network with other Alzheimer’s researchers and funding bodies.

I am thankful for the Biochemical Society’s contribution to my travel costs which enabled me to attend an exceptional AAIC meeting in Washington DC.’

Cara Croft

Leave a Reply

