Future Fridays: Career profile of Kelly Edwards, Research Information Co-ordinator

Kelly EdwardsAs part of Future Fridays we will be showcasing profiles from our careers library for 16-18 year olds who are considering their options. Here’s an extract from Kelly Edward’s profile, who is a Research Information Co-ordinator for the Motor Neurone Disease Association.

 

What did you study at A-level (or equivalent)?

For my A-Levels, I studied human biology, chemistry, maths and computing. Of these, I most enjoyed human biology and learning more about what ‘really’ goes on inside our cells. I remember being fascinated by this, it really opened my eyes and made the decision for me as to what I wanted to study at University.

What did you study at university?

I studied BSc (Hons) Biology. During my course I studied quite a few different biological topics, including biochemistry, microbiology, animal science, genetics and molecular biology. By the time I reached my final year, I’d learnt what subjects I most enjoyed (and also which ones to avoid like the plague!).

What did you enjoy most about your degree?

One aspect I enjoyed most about my degree was learning to think independently about scientific findings and not to accept claims as facts. This was a massive step for me and I now constantly question findings and statements about science for their integrity.

What did you do after university?

I was quite lucky after university in that I had already secured a job as a Research Information Co-ordinator before my final exams were over. I work for a charity called the Motor Neurone Disease Association where I have been since June 2008. However, it was not easy to decide which area of work I wanted to get into.

To read the full profile and other similar profiles, seehttp://www.biochemistry.org/careers. You can also find careers information for school students and HE students.

Leave a Reply

